Kane Williamson and Tim Southee to overlook T20I sequence in India in January; New Zealand named a brand new captain | Techi Chook

Veteran all-rounder Mitchell Santner will captain New Zealand within the three-match T20I sequence towards India this month, with left-arm spinner Ben Lister receiving his maiden call-up to the squad on Thursday.

New Zealand will play the primary T20I in Ranchi on January 27 after finishing the three-match ODI sequence beginning on January 18 in Hyderabad.

Lister’s inclusion within the crew comes after he made his debut for New Zealand A in India late final 12 months.

The 27-year-old’s journey to India was reduce quick after he contracted pneumonia in Bangalore. The an infection noticed him spend time in hospital earlier than returning residence to proceed remedy.

Santner’s crew can have an skilled set of T20 cricketers, together with 9 gamers from final 12 months’s T20 World Cup.

Among the many gamers nonetheless comparatively new to worldwide cricket are all-rounder Henry Shipley, who made his worldwide debut within the ODI sequence towards Pakistan, and leg-spinner Michael Rippon, who made his debut towards Scotland on final 12 months’s European tour.

New Zealand Cricket (NZC) selector Gavin Larsen stated Lister had impressed together with his expertise throughout codecs.

“Ben (infielder) has been an attention-grabbing affect early in his profession in purple and white ball cricket for the Auckland Aces. Since making his debut in late 2017, he has been the Aces’ main wicket-taker in T20 and Record A cricket.

“His capability to swing the ball considerably as a left-hander is especially attention-grabbing.

“All of us felt for Ben after his tour ended like final 12 months and it is a testomony to his work ethic that he is been in a position to come again strongly to home cricket this season.” Larsen stated he was impressed with Santner’s earlier capabilities as captain of the T20 crew. “Mitch is the chief of our white-ball groups and beforehand captained the T20 crew in India. His expertise within the Indian context can be invaluable in main this crew.” Luke Ronchi would be the head coach of the crew, with Bob Carter (batting), Paul Wiseman (bowling) and Trevor Penny (fourth coach) as his assistants.

New Zealand T20 squad: Mitchell Santner (captain), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Dane Cleaver, Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy, Lockie Ferguson, Ben Lister, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Michael Rippon, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi Blair Tickner.

(Disclaimer: This story was routinely generated from a syndicated feed; solely the picture and headline might have been edited by www.republicworld.com)

Supply hyperlink